Practicing …

About the Chopin walz op 69:2 …

What I need to do now is to practice all the different semiquaver figures – or whatever you call these combinations – separately until I do not miss half of them and end up somewhere out in the marshlands. A terrible way to ruin such a nice piece of music, I am ashamed every time it happens. As it happens far too often (read: all the time), I suppose I must do a lot of slow playing here. I have also identified an issue with my wrist – the movements in these sections require a very precise pre-positioning of the wrist, or else I will stretch my fingers in several awkward angles and the result is nearly always that I miss the right keys. At least I think this is what I need to do – I will try this approach and see if it works.

Yes, it worked! My translation workload is still heavy and I will have to have low ambitions for the rest of this month thanks to this, but I have managed to squeeze a few practice sessions in, focusing mainly on this walz. Today it felt so much better than before. I am pinpointing the remaining difficult spots better, and I will keep on working with them separately. Cannot make up my mind about the tempo here – slow and tranquil, or more cheerful and energetic?

At least the key change is easy now. I used to think it was tricky, because I am not used to these … A sharps? Well, after having sighed over that 10:6 etude, I am not that scared anymore. There I have to remember to play C flats. C flat, how strange. Oh well, I’m getting used to it now.

Anyway, I should try to memorize this walz more. It is just that … I loathe memorizing. It is so difficult and so boring, and it always ends with me crying “what’s the point anyway???” and giving up. But fact is, that I understand the point very well. I simply play better when I don’t have to stick my nose right in the music sheet all the time and feel like Rowlf from the Muppet Show.

Ohmygod, I really look exactly like him, hahaha! Maybe a little less cute, though.

Addendum after my lesson 16-11-17: My teacher was very helpful with this piece, helping me to sort the fingering out in those tricky semiquaver passages. The piece does not feel that difficult anymore and that is a good sign. Of course you are never totally “finished” with a piece, there are always things to improve, and improve a bit more, but at least I am soon reaching the point where I can put this piece in the “decent standard” pile. 

Leave a Reply

